People with coeliac disease need to avoid ALL gluten, ALL the time – and the Coeliac Society of Ireland is dedicated to ensuring our members can eat as wide as possible a selection of delicious and nutritious gluten free foods.
The Food List will help you find packaged foods that have gluten-free ingredients AND are free from manufacturing cross-contamination with gluten. It contains more than 7,000 gluten free food products.
However, not all products that contain gluten free ingredients are on the Food List. In these instances, the product’s bar code won’t be recognised when using the barcode scanner.
Upload Barcode Data
The Food List includes lots of foods that are naturally gluten free, however, when these foods are prepared or processed with other ingredients, we need proof that there is no cross-contamination with gluten in the production process before they can be included in the Food List.
Every year the Coeliac Society of Ireland contacts an extensive list of manufacturers to put together the Food List. We require proof of gluten free status in order to include a product. Some manufacturers are not in a position to provide this or fail to return the required documentation confirming a product’s gluten free status.
In these instances, we cannot include that product in the Food List – even if it was previously included. Click here for more information on food labelling.
The damage that gluten causes to the gut means that it is harder for people with coeliac disease to absorb nutrients from their food. Cutting out gluten completely helps the gut to heal and to go back to normal.
The Food List app is updated on an ongoing basis, with food products added and, occasionally, deleted. A product may be removed because its manufacturing process or ingredients have changed, making it no longer gluten free or at risk of cross contamination. In some cases, a product may still be gluten free but is no longer available on the Irish market.
The Society works with manufacturers and retailers throughout the year to keep our members updated on the latest additions and deletions.
We welcome recommendations from our members – but we have to be sure that a product is certified gluten free before it can be included in the Food List.
If there is a gluten-free product you would like to see added to the Food List, complete the Barcode Data Form on this webpage. Our Food List team will follow up with the manufacturer and, where a product is confirmed to be gluten free, we will add it to the Food List.
If you are a food manufacturer and wish to provide proof that your product is gluten free, please email firstname.lastname@example.org to complete the food manufacturer’s declaration form, or contact the Coeliac Society of Ireland here.
In order for a product to get into the CSI food list, brand owners and manufacturers have to sign a binding legal declaration that confirms the product, or products if a brand has more than one product listed;
- have a gluten free certificate certifying that the product(s) contains less than 20mg/kg of gluten as sold to the final consumer, where: “gluten” means a protein fraction from wheat, rye, barley, oats or their crossbred varieties and derivatives thereof to which some persons are intolerant and which is insoluble in water and 0,5 M sodium chloride solution; and “wheat” means any Triticum species including but not limited to, for example, Emmer, Spelt, Kamut and/or Einkorn.
- the product(s) the subject of the declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and are produced in a dedicated production plant with no gluten or gluten-containing ingredients on site.
- the product(s) the subject of the declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and are produced in a dedicated area within a mixed-production plant with adequate HACCP controls in place to prevent cross-contamination with gluten and/or gluten-containing ingredients.
- where a dedicated plant or dedicated area within a mixed-production plant is not available, the manufacturer/brand owner must confirm that the product(s) the subject of the declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and that sufficient HACCP controls are in place to prevent gluten-cross contamination.
- in respect of any of the product(s) the subject of the declaration containing oats as an ingredient, that these oats have been specially produced, prepared and/or processed in a way so as to avoid contamination by wheat, rye, barley or their crossbred varieties and the gluten content of such oats does not exceed 20mg/kg. Such oats should be certified gluten free by the supplier.
- the product(s) listed do not have a “may contain gluten/cereals containing gluten” label indicating the possible presence of gluten-containing cereals.
- the food business has in place a Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) System to manage gluten-free production which includes a risk assessment to ensure the avoidance of gluten contamination during all stages of production, storage, transportation and handling of the product(s) the subject of this declaration
- the initial gluten analysis (either gluten-free certification or HACCP analysis system) is carried out and repeat gluten analysis as required in relation to changes in production or raw materials by the food business on the basis of a plan for sampling and analysing the product as sold or distributed by the food business to the consumer.
If a manufacturer/brand owner cannot fulfil all of these requirements then they cannot sign the declaration and are not allowed into our food list. While every effort is made to ensure that the products listed adhere to the above, with over 7,500+ individual items in the food list database, it is possible that some products not meeting that above may appear in the database. When we become aware of this the product is immediately removed and the brand owner/manufacturer contacted immediately to investigate the erroneous inclusion. Should you find a product in the food list not adhering to the above please let us know immediately at email@example.com