Our Food Database is the most comprehensive gluten free food guide available in Ireland. It is intended for the recipient’s exclusive use and not for sharing. The Food Database contains details of almost 7,000 gluten free products currently available in Ireland. The information is received from food manufacturers who are required to sign a declaration confirming they meet the legal manufacturing standards required to claim the gluten free status of their products.
We work with manufacturers year-round and receive updates on their product information on an ongoing basis, so that products can be removed or added to the Food List throughout the year. We provide updates to members of any changes via the online Food List, through our monthly email newsletter and, in the near future, on the Food List app.
I hereby confirm the following in respect of each of the products individually listed and described in the accompanying Excel spreadsheet returned to the Coeliac Society of Ireland:
Please select one or more of the options below:
Please tick (✓) as appropriate:
That the product(s) the subject of this declaration has a gluten free certificate certifying that the product(s) contains less than 20mg/kg of gluten as sold to the final consumer, where: “gluten” means a protein fraction from wheat, rye, barley, oats or their crossbred varieties and derivatives thereof to which some persons are intolerant and which is insoluble in water and 0,5 M sodium chloride solution; and “wheat” means any Triticum species including but not limited to, for example, Emmer, Spelt, Kamut and/or Einkorn.
The product(s) the subject of this declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and are produced in a dedicated production plant with no gluten or gluten-containing ingredients on site.
The product(s) the subject of this declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and are produced in a dedicated area within a mixed-production plant with adequate HACCP controls in place to prevent cross-contamination with gluten and/or gluten-containing ingredients.
Where a dedicated plant or dedicated area within a mixed-production plant is not available, we confirm that the product(s) the subject of this declaration are free from gluten-containing ingredients and that sufficient HACCP controls are in place to prevent gluten-cross contamination.
Oats and Gluten Free Oats:
- In respect of any of the product(s) the subject of this declaration containing oats as an ingredient, that these oats have been specially produced, prepared and/or processed in a way so as to avoid contamination by wheat, rye, barley or their crossbred varieties and the gluten content of such oats does not exceed 20mg/kg. Such oats should be certified gluten free by the supplier.
May Contain Labels
- The product(s) listed do not have a “may contain gluten/cereals containing gluten” label indicating the possible presence of gluten-containing cereals.
Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) System
- That the food business has in place a Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) System to manage gluten-free production which includes a risk assessment to ensure the avoidance of gluten contamination during all stages of production, storage, transportation and handling of the product(s) the subject of this declaration, including but not limited to consideration of the following process phases:
- ensure gluten free status of raw materials from supplier;
- receiving raw materials;
- storing/segregation of raw materials;
- pouring from sacks and storage containers;
- product preparation;
- production in mixed-production units;
- cleaning of machines, pipelines, utensils, storage containers and working areas;
- packaging/casing; and,
- complaints, traceability and product recall/withdrawal
Ongoing Gluten Analysis
- That initial gluten analysis (either gluten-free certification or HACCP analysis system) is carried out and repeat gluten analysis as required in relation to changes in production or raw materials by the food business on the basis of a plan for sampling and analysing the product as sold or distributed by the food business to the consumer.
People with coeliac disease need to avoid ALL gluten, ALL the time – and the Coeliac Society of Ireland is dedicated to ensuring our members can eat as wide as possible a selection of delicious and nutritious gluten free foods.
The Food List will help you find packaged foods that have gluten-free ingredients AND are free from manufacturing cross-contamination with gluten. It contains more than 7,000 gluten free food products.
However, not all products that contain gluten free ingredients are on the Food List. In these instances, the product’s bar code won’t be recognised when using the barcode scanner.
Upload Barcode Data
The Food List includes lots of foods that are naturally gluten free, however, when these foods are prepared or processed with other ingredients, we need proof that there is no cross-contamination with gluten in the production process before they can be included in the Food List.
Every year the Coeliac Society of Ireland contacts an extensive list of manufacturers to put together the Food List. We require proof of gluten free status in order to include a product. Some manufacturers are not in a position to provide this or fail to return the required documentation confirming a product’s gluten free status.
In these instances, we cannot include that product in the Food List – even if it was previously included. Click here for more information on food labelling.
The damage that gluten causes to the gut means that it is harder for people with coeliac disease to absorb nutrients from their food. Cutting out gluten completely helps the gut to heal and to go back to normal.
The Food List app is updated on an ongoing basis, with food products added and, occasionally, deleted. A product may be removed because its manufacturing process or ingredients have changed, making it no longer gluten free or at risk of cross contamination. In some cases, a product may still be gluten free but is no longer available on the Irish market.
The Society works with manufacturers and retailers throughout the year to keep our members updated on the latest additions and deletions.
We welcome recommendations from our members – but we have to be sure that a product is certified gluten free before it can be included in the Food List.
If there is a gluten-free product you would like to see added to the Food List, complete the Barcode Data Form on this webpage. Our Food List team will follow up with the manufacturer and, where a product is confirmed to be gluten free, we will add it to the Food List.
If you are a food manufacturer and wish to provide proof that your product is gluten free, click here [insert link] to complete the food manufacturer’s declaration form, or contact the Coeliac Society of Ireland here.