St. Patrick’s Day Gluten Free Guide
St. Patricks day is approaching fast, and with the madness of the weekend ahead between parades, music, céilí dancing and a whole lot of green, we have put together a quick guide for a coeliac friendly bank holiday weekend!
Traditional Irish Food
Soda bread is made using baking soda rather than a traditional yeast. The ingredients of traditional soda bread include flour, baking soda, salt, and buttermilk. It is not naturally gluten free but there are gluten free alternatives available. See our food list for some options. Another option is to have a go at making your own gluten free soda bread! Why not try our Irish Cheddar and Bacon Buttermilk Soda Bread!
Irish Cheddar and Bacon Buttermilk Soda Bread.
Makes 1 loaf (prep time 15 minutes, cooking time 40/45 minutes)
- 450g of gluten free plain flour
- 60g of butter
- Small pinch of salt
- 1 tsp of gluten free baking powder
- 2 tsp of xanthan gum
- 80g of grated mature Irish Cheddar
- 2 lean rashers of back bacon grilled and chopped into small pieces
- 1 egg
- 300 ml of buttermilk
- Preheat oven to 160°c fan oven or 180 °c for regular oven
- Into a bowl sieve the flour, baking powder, salt, and xanthan gum, Rub in the butter with clean hands.
- Add the cheese and bacon and mix through.
- Add the buttermilk and egg, mix to form a soft dough. If slightly dry add a little more buttermilk.
- Turn onto a floured surface and form a round, flatten slightly and mark a cross with a sharp knife, without cutting through completely.
- Place on a flat floured baking sheet and bake for 40/45 mins. Stick in a skewer which should come out clean. Allow to cool and slice when needed.
To make this a balanced meal, serve your soda bread with some soup! Soup is a staple in an Irish winter diet, and a great way to heat up after watching the parade. Why not try making your soup green, by adding green vegetables such as leaks, broccoli, spinach and peas.
Meats such as beef and lamb and root vegetables are all used in an Irish stew and are all naturally gluten free! Choosing fresh herbs such as thyme and rosemary are a great way to add flavour to stews and soups and they are naturally gluten free. We would recommend checking the food list or looking for gluten free labelled varieties of processed seasoning such as dried herbs and stock cubes. We also have a range of herbs and spices available in our coeliac society shop.
Traditionally Irish stews are thickened with Barley. A great alternative for someone on a gluten free diet is to add lentils, not only will this thicken the stew but it will add extra protein to the dish! Additionally, thickeners that can be used for stew, gravy and sauces that are naturally gluten free include corn flour, tapioca flour, potato flour and Xanthan gum.
This dish is traditionally made of creamy mashed potato mixed with cabbage or kale. A hearty side to any meal and even gives the element of green to a St. Patrick’s Day feast! It’s a great way to incorporate and additional portion of vegetables at your mealtime. It’s best served with Irish ham or Irish salmon!
Salmon is one of the most common fish found in Irish waters. We have many smokehouses around the coast of Ireland. Smoked salmon is a great addition to a breakfast, lunch or dinner! It’s also a good source of vitamin D and omega 3 fatty acids.
Something to look out for! A package may say Smoked Irish Salmon or Irish smoked Salmon. Smoked Irish salmon means the fish itself is from Ireland whereas the Irish smoked salmon means the fish was imported from another country but smoked in Ireland.
Coddle is a traditional Dublin dinner made from sausages, bacon, potatoes and herbs, historically this was a meal made using leftovers, all cooked in the one pot! Gluten free sausages can be found on both the food list and the coeliac app.
Black and white pudding
Black and white pudding is traditionally used in a full Irish breakfast, though it is not gluten free. However, there are numerous gluten free varieties suitable for coeliacs and these can be found in the annual food list. A lovely alternative to an eggs benedict it to swap out the rashers for a slice of black pudding!
What can I drink on the day?
The good news is unflavoured cider, wine, sherry, spirits, port and liqueurs are all naturally gluten free. Whereas, beer, lagers, stouts and ales contain gluten and are not suitable for people on a gluten free diet, gluten free options are available. A number of companies produce gluten free beers that are suitable for coeliacs. A good way to know whether a beer, ale, larger or stout is safe is by checking your annual Food List 2022 or using the coeliac app.